Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

February 15, 2025

The Honorable Doug Collins Secretary U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs 810 Vermont Avenue NW Washington, DC 20420

Dear Mr. Secretary:

The Administration's late-night actions on February 13, 2025, to terminate over 1,000 dedicated federal civil servants at the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) directly contradicts your recent testimony before the U.S. Senate, where you said, "I want to strengthen VA so it works better for America's heroes, and I will embrace your oversight and seek your counsel as we work together to do just that." Yet, rather than seeking the counsel of Congress, you took unilateral action to abruptly dismiss service-disabled veterans, military spouses, medical researchers, and countless others without any apparent justification—undermining the very mission of VA. There is nothing *strengthening* about gutting the workforce with the sacred mission to serve veterans, caregivers, and survivors.

It defies logic that you would terminate employees who are veterans themselves and who are serving veterans daily, all without regard to their performance or the devastating consequences of these firings. We know this to be the case because, on February 14, 2025, when congressional staff requested these justifications from your Office of Congressional and Legislative Affairs, the official currently performing the delegable duties of the Assistant Secretary for Congressional and Legislative Affairs claimed no one in that office had knowledge of these actions until VA's press release was issued the night of February 13, 2025, at 9:06 p.m. This admission underscores the reckless, ill-planned nature of these firings, as well as a complete lack of transparency in how they were executed.

Adding to our concerns, this mass firing follows a directive from the Office of Personnel Management instructing federal agencies, including VA, to provide justifications for retaining probationary employees. The sequence of events strongly suggests that the OPM directive was nothing more than a hollow exercise, ignored in favor of an ideological purge. This lack of meaningful review casts serious doubt on your claim that "these moves will not negatively impact VA health care, benefits or beneficiaries."

Given these serious concerns, we demand that you personally brief Members of Congress by no later than February 26, 2025, and that at this briefing you be prepared to thoroughly answer Members' questions and to produce documentation and other evidence to support your claims.

This Administration may believe it can run government agencies the way Elon Musk gutted Twitter—by arbitrarily slashing staff and expecting operations to somehow function seamlessly—but VA is not a tech start-up, and veterans are not an experiment. We will not allow reckless political games to undermine the care and benefits our veterans have earned.

We look forward to your prompt response.

Sincerely,

MARK TAKANO

Member of Congress

Mark Jalany

John B. Larson

Member of Congress

Mike Thompson

Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal

Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia

Member of Congress

Mus

nenn Ivey

Member of Congress

Timothy M. Kennedy

Member of Congress

Kristen McDonald Rivet

Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal

Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar

Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.

Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis
Member of Congress

Julia Brownley

Member of Congress

Frank J. Mrvån Member of Congress

Wielilber of Collgress

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Jaseph D. marelle

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva

Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Joseph D. Morelle

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez
Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress Becca Balint
Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress Kansas Third District

Verrold Nadler
Member of Congress

U Hallen

Greg Landsman Member of Congress

Yassamin Ansari Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Eleano H. Norton

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

Suhas Subramanyam Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree
Member of Congress

Chell R____

Mike Quigley
Member of Congress

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

Greg Casa Member of Congress

Greg Stanton
Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Lasheda flail

Patrick Ryan Member of Congress

Gabe Amo

Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs

Member of Congress

Frank Pallone, Jr.

Member of Congress

Laura Friedman

Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat

Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross

Member of Congress

Paul Tonko

Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

hnny Oszewski, Jr.

Member of Congress

Sylvester Turner

Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Joe Courtney

Member of Congress

Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr.

Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Katly Castor

Emily Randall
Member of Congress

Grace Meng

Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Eugene Simon Vindman
Nember of Congress

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernandez Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Maxine Dexter Member of Congress

Lateefah Simon
Member of Congress

Sam T. Liccardo Member of Congress

Mason Crow Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Chris Pappas
Member of Congress

George Whitesides Member of Congress

Lauren Underwood Member of Congress Summer L. Lee Member of Congress

April McClain Delaney Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Jernifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Tarament.

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress